Saturday 22 September 2018

Dublin minors rejig their attack

Dublin’s Enda O’Donnell battles with Kilkenny’s Jordan Molloy during the Leinster MHC final. Pic: Sportsfile
Dublin’s Enda O’Donnell battles with Kilkenny’s Jordan Molloy during the Leinster MHC final. Pic: Sportsfile

Dublin have made four changes to their starting line-up ahead of tomorrow's All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship quarter-final against Antrim in Páirc Esler, Newry (6.0).

The first change is in the Dublin full-back line with Kevin Burke (Na Fianna) replacing Tom Kinnane while their half-back line of Eoghan O'Neill, Luke Walsh and Lee Grogan remains unaltered.

The Na Fianna youngster is a younger brother of current Dublin senior hurler Donal who was on last year's victorious Leinster minor winning team for the Dubs.

There is a positional switch at centrefield as Ben Coffey, who started at centre-forward in Dublin's Leinster final defeat to Kilkenny, coming in to partner team captain David Keogh with Micheál Murphy the player to miss out.

There are two switches to Dublin's half-forward line with Mark Grogan (Kilmacud Crokes) the only player to retain his position.

Coffey's redeployment to midfield sees Lucan Sarsfields club-mate Emmet Allen return to the starting line-up with Enda O'Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille) chosen ahead of Cuala's Diarmuid Ó Floinn.

The final change comes in their full-forward line with key attackers Seán Currie and Liam Murphy are joined inside by Luke McDwyer, who replaces fellow Ballyboden St Enda's player Kevin Desmond.

Dublin arrive at this stage having enjoyed home wins against Laois and Wexford before they succumbed by 3-15 to 1-17 to Kilkenny in the Leinster final at the start of the month in Croke Park.

Should they prove successful tomorrow, Dublin will advance to their third successful semi-final, having fallen at the last four stage to Tipperary in 2015 and Limerick 12 months ago.

p The Friends of Dublin Hurling are running a supporters' bus to Newry to support our minor hurlers.

It will depart Connolly Station at 3pm and The Premier Inn, Airside Retail Park at 3.30. To book, text 087-2331983 with your name and pick up point no later than 6pm today.

DUBLIN (MHC v Antrim): C O'Donoghue; A Dunphy, B McHugh, K Burke; E O'Neill, L Walsh, L Gannon; D Keogh, B Coffey; M Grogan, E Allen, E O'Donnell; L Murphy, S Currie, L McDwyer.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News