Thursday 18 January 2018

Daly's men to dominate small ball

Dubs Stars Hurlers v Dublin


A NEW dawn for the small ball. Time to think big. Anthony Daly's fifth year in the blue geansaí. He'll be looking to rekindle the spirit of 2011.

First things first. Banish the demons of last season.

The initial steps will be taken tomorrow on the Blakestown Road. It could be standing room only.

The covered stand accommodates 500. Peregrine's expect it to be full.

They have gone on a PR offensive. "All the schools got flyers and we have done a huge amount locally to advertise the game," says Peregrine's chairman, Tom Kitt.

"We think the free Dublin Bus shuttle service from the Blanchardstown Shopping Centre before and after the games will work well.

"All our stewards are in place, we have worked hard on the pitch and the surrounds, so we are all set."

The spectators will be impressed with the facilities. The best of grub and entertainment will be on offer.

The hurling tussle will also have a touch of the family fortunes. Johnny McCaffrey is captaining Dublin. His brother, Matt, is on the Dubs Stars side.

Paul Schutte is in the Dubs Stars defence. His brother, Mark, is on the Dublin bench.


The Dubs Stars squad includes the three O'Carroll brothers from Kilmacud Crokes -- Rory, Ross and Bill.

John Hetherton is among the Dubs Stars subs. His Dad, Ciarán, is a Dublin selector.

Ger O'Meara is in the Dubs Stars defence. He also made the Dubs Stars first XV last term. His sister, Elaine, is also on the Dubs Stars camogie side for the second successive year.

Ger Ennis played 10 years for Dublin. He'll be the most decorated Dubs Star on show. This is his seventh award.

The Crokes-Cuala connection will manage the Dubs Stars, Gearóid ó Riain and Harry Roberts. Ger is asking them to bring him on early and he'll do damage.

David Treacy can also give the Dublin defence plenty to think about, while Dublin have their own ace attackers in the likes of David O'Callaghan, Conal Keaney and Paul Ryan.

But the Cork custodian, Matt Collins, will not be easily beaten. He was outstanding as Kilmacud won their first senior county championship in 27 years.

DUBS STARS: M Collins; P Schutte, N Corcoran, G O'Meara; M McCaffrey, Rory O'Carroll, S Moran; D Mulligan, C McBride; B Connolly, W O'Brien, Ross O'Carroll; C Waldron, D Treacy, S McGrath. Subs: B McCormack, J Doughan, R O'Loughlin, B O'Carroll, J Boland, J Hetherton, G Ennis.

DUBLIN: F McGarry; C Murphy, M Carton, R Trainor; S Lambert, P Kelly, O Gough; J McCaffrey, L Rushe; D O'Callaghan, C McCormack, D Sutcliffe; P Ryan, C Keaney, E Dillon. Subs: K Byrne, A Clabby, C Cronin, C Crummy, T Devlin, K Dunne, S McClelland, N McMorrow, M Schutte, G Whelan.


Promoted articles

Entertainment News