Thursday 17 January 2019

Callaghan moved into Lillies attack

KILDARE footballers have announced an unchanged line-up for Sunday's NFL Division Two clash away to Donegal -- despite suffering their first defeat of the season against high-flying Derry last weekend.

There are some positional alterations, however, with Brian Flanagan listed at centre-back and Eamonn Callaghan at wing-forward even though they reversed roles against the Oak Leafers.

RELEGATION-threatened T have made only one change for their must-win clash with Sligo, bringing in Johnny Curran to replace Pascal McConnell in goals. Ryan McMenamin's selection indicates he has escaped any retrospective action for an alleged stamp on Donegal's Paddy McGrath.

CORK'S defence, which leaked three goals to Dublin, has been considerably improved by the return of Eoin Cadogan from hurling duty. Jamie O'Sullivan is the man to lose out as they host Monaghan; Ken O'Halloran replaces Paddy O'Shea in goals while Ciarán Sheehan displaces Colm O'Neill at full-forward.

MAYO'S extensive injury list has increased with Trevor Howley (ankle) and Neil Douglas (torn hamstring) expected to miss Sunday's clash with Galway.

THE Leinster Council has rejected claims by Dublin U21 football boss Jim Gavin that provincial chiefs refused a Sky Blue request to move the date of last Wednesday's game with Meath.

"They may have gone to their own county board seeking a postponement, but no one approached us," insisted Leinster secretary Michael Delaney, responding to comments from Gavin after the Dubs surrendered their Leinster and All-Ireland crowns after an extra-time duel with Meath.

KILDARE (SF v Donegal): S Connolly; H McGrillen, M Foley, T O'Neill; D Whyte, B Flanagan, E Bolton; H Lynch, P O'Neill; E Callaghan, J Doyle, E O'Flaherty; F Dowling, A Smith, K Cribbin.

TYRONE (SF v Sligo): J Curran; A McCrory, C McCarron, R McMenamin; D Harte, C Gormley, D Carlin; K Hughes, N McKenna; P Harte, B McGuigan, S Cavanagh; M Penrose, S O'Neill, E McGinley.

CORK (SF v Monaghan): K O'Halloran; R Carey, E Cadogan, M Shields; C O'Driscoll, P Kissane, D O'Sullivan; A O'Connor, A Walsh; P O'Neill, P Kelly, F Goold; D Goulding, C Sheehan, D O'Connor.

GALWAY (SF v Mayo): P Lally; A Burke, C Forde, D Reilly; G O'Donnell, F Hanley, K Brady; P Conroy, E Hoare; J Bergin, C Bane, G Sice; S Armstrong, D Cummins, C Kenny.

CAVAN (SF v Waterford): J Reilly; A Clarke, P Carroll, S Jordan; M McKeever, J McCutcheon, D O'Reilly; R Cullivan, P O'Reilly; R Flanagan, K Fannin, G McKiernan; C Mackey, G Pierson, S Johnston.

WICKLOW (SF v Fermanagh): J Flynn; P Higgins, S Kelly, C Hyland; P Earls, A Byrne, D Hayden; R Finn, J Stafford; T Hannon, P Dalton, JP Dalton; D Odlum, S Furlong, L Glynn.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News