| 3.9°C Dublin

Brigid's too strong for brave Davis

St Brigid's produced a dominant second-half performance as they overcame a plucky Thomas Davis by 1-14 to 0-8 in their Dublin minor 'B' Hurling Championship final on the all-weather surface at Sancta Maria last Sunday lunchtime.

It proved a fitting finale for Brigid's mentor Johnny McGuirk, who will take over as manager of the Dublin minor team for 2015 and he would have been delighted with his team's application and cohesion.

"It is great for the lads to win the final, especially after a few of the panel lost the U16 'A' championship final a few weeks ago," said St Brigid's Director of Hurling, Timmy O'Mahony.

"We are so grateful in the club for Johnny's contribution over the years and it was a wonderful team effort from all involved with our defence excellent throughout, giving us the foundation for the win."


Despite only leading by 0-8 to 0-6, St Brigid's always looked in control of affairs with captain David Fraine giving an inspirational display from centre-back and he received able defensive support from Oisín Finnerty, Ciarán Galvin, Donnacha Ryan and goalkeeper Michael Courtney.

Much of the scoring was shared by their U16 players Kevin Callaghan and Johnny McGuirk, with the talented duo sharing 11 points from play over the hour for the Blanchardstown outfit.

Another of their U16 team-mates Cian O'Sullivan effectively settled the contest when netting in the 47th minute with Thomas Davis manager Enda O'Toole full of admiration for the quality inherent in the St Brigid's team.

"It was good for the lads to get to the final and a good experience in terms of their development but we were beaten by a far better team who had a panel of exceptional hurlers in their ranks," he said.

Dáire Kerr hit all of Thomas Davis' scores from placed balls but there was encouragement offered to O'Toole in the displays of Caelan Brennan, Dillon Joyce, Conor Molloy, Kerr, Chris Sallier and Davy Keogh.

St Brigid's: M Courtney, C Breslin, O Finnerty, J O'Neill, C Galvin, D Fraine, D Ryan, S O'Malley, S Donnelly, J McGuirk, L Purtill, K Callaghan, C O'Sullivan, T Brannigan, M Donnelly, J Rogers, K Keogh, R O'Connor, J Hendricks, D McKenna, T O'Shea, J Connolly, T McGlynn, C Webb, D Cullinan, P Reilly, S Egan, D Leahy.

Thomas Davis: C Brennan, D Cleary, D Joyce, N Moloney, J McKenna, J McDonnell, C Molloy, D Kerr, E O'Toole, B Molloy, C Sallier, D Keogh, C Prendergast, L Quinn, M Lowry, A Halpin, D O'Neill, E Collins, T Byrne, T Cummins, G Swan, D O'Neill, G Peggs, C Clarke.