Wednesday 20 February 2019

Blues cruise into quarter-finals

Leinster U21: HC Rd 2, Dublin 4-18 Carlow 0-12

Forward thinking: Dublin’s Ronan Hayes gets to the sliotar ahead of Carlow’s Cathal Tracey
Forward thinking: Dublin’s Ronan Hayes gets to the sliotar ahead of Carlow’s Cathal Tracey

Dublin under-21 hurlers completely outclassed hosts Carlow in this Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21 Championship Round 2 tie at Netwatch Cullen Park last evening, with a total of 12 of the visitors sharing in their big scoring tally.

The Dubs, now with comprehensive victories to their credit over both Laois and Carlow, will face Westmeath in Cusack Park, Mullingar next Wednesday night in their provincial quarter-final.

There will be good competition for places also with Dublin seniors Fergal Whitely and Donal Burke expected to be available for selection next time out.

Offaly host Galway in their other quarter-final with Wexford and Kilkenny awaiting in the Leinster semi-finals - the winners of Dublin versus Westmeath will meet the Slaneysiders in the last-four.

Dublin were in front within the opening minute when midfielder Johnny McGuirk, son of former Dublin senior of the same name, pointed from play.

Showing great fielding, pace and scoring power, the visitors had powered into a double scores lead by the half-time interval (0-12 to 0-6).

Hosts Carlow simply had no answer to the superior skills of the Dubs, and the Barrowsiders depended exclusively on Chris Nolan for their first half tally - Nolan scored 0-11 on his side's overall total, 0-4 from play.

Any slight hope of a Carlow comeback were extinguished within a minute of the restart when Dublin Paul Crummey fired his side's first goal.

Futher green flags were to follow from Cian O'Sullivan, sub Cillian Costello and a wonderful solo effort from centre-forward Eoghan Dunne as Paul O'Brien's men cruised to victory.

SCORERS - Dublin: E Dunne 1-3, P Crummey 1-2, C Currie 0-4 (0-3f), C O Costello 1-1, C O'Sullivan 1-0, E Conroy 0-2, J McGuirk, D Keogh, C Dowling, R Hayes, C Burke, S McCaw 0-1 each. Carlow: C Nolan 0-11 (0-7f), C Whelan 0-1 (f).

DUBLIN: D Perry; C Hendricken, S Howard, P Smyth; E Conroy, C Burke, D Gray; J McGuirk, D Keogh; C Dowling, E Dunne, R Hayes; C Currie, C O'Sullivan, P Crummey. Subs: J McVeigh for Smyth (27), C Costello for Dowling (ht), S McCaw for Keogh (37), O Lanigan for McGuirk (42).

CARLOW: T Dowling; J Wall, D Tobin, D Connors; A Casey, O Roberts, E Redmond; N Lynham, K McDonald; C Tracey, J Nolan, P Hynes; C Whelan, P Connors, C Nolan. Subs: A Amond for Wall (18), A Whelan for Tracey (36), N Galway for Lynham (50).

REF: B Redmond (Wexford).

Promoted articles

Entertainment News