| 3.5°C Dublin

Barróg to meet Isle's in decider

Naomh Barróg and Erin's Isle will contest the Dublin Minor 'C' Hurling Championship final after their semi-final wins last Sunday.

Three goals by Cillian Costello helped Naomh Barróg to overcome O'Toole's by 5-7 to 1-6 on home turf.

Brian Dennis netted early on for the winners with Costello adding two goals thanks to the creative efforts of Mark Byrne as the Kilbarrack lads led by 3-4 to 0-3 at the break.

Further goals followed for the hosts after the break at Páirc Barróg with Costello grabbing his third after Alex Cosgrove had netted earlier, benefiting hugely from the influential displays of Dennis, Seadhna Ryan, George Bodor, Michael Tolan, Conor Gibson, Seán Boland, Aaron O'Mahony, Paul Tolan, Jake Garnett and Mark Fogarty.

It proved far tighter affair in Finglas as Erin's Isle secured a dramatic late victory over a talented Ballyboden St Enda's, prevailing by 2-9 to 1-11 by the final whistle.

After an incredibly tight and hard-fought encounter, it was left to Ciarán Whelan to have the final word as his last gasp point confirmed a noteworthy win for Isles.

"We stole it from them," was the honest assessment of Erin's Isle manager Stan Brannigan.

"Ballyboden were definitely the better team for most of the game and the only time that we were ahead was at the final whistle.

"It is great for the lads to make the final all the same as the future of the team didn't look too great earlier in the year and it's very important for the club that we contest finals," said Brannigan.

The visitors impressed throughout with Peadar Mac Mathúna, Michael O'Flaherty, Cillian Byrne and Kevin O'Flaherty shining defensively while Mark McGree put in a solid shift at midfield.

In attack, Ruairí Kirwan, Ciarán Ryan and Aaron Coffey shared 1-9 of the St Enda's total but with Conor Carney keeping Isle's in touch, the game was left on a knife-edge.

The goals scored by Whelan and Ed King proved pivotal as did the efforts of Adam O'Neill, Jake Thornton and Mikey Donoghue.

Naomh Barróg: J Garnett, A O'Mahony, M Tolan, S Boland, M Fogarty, C Gibson, T Aherne, S Ryan, G Bodor, A Cosgrave, C Forbes, P Tolan, B Dennis, M Byrne, C Costello, C Brady, C Williams, C Kellett, J Flood.

Erin's Isle: J Byrne, D Brannigan, C O'Hara, C Savage, A King, K Spillane, D Bryan, C Carney, M Donohue, K Mahon, C Donohue, E King, R McCabe, M Morrison, A O'Neill, C Whelan, J Thornton, L Finnegan, L Sheridan, S Gaffney, C Lawlor, L Sheridan, D Grant, J Keoghan.