Saturday 16 December 2017

Fagan '10' win

Martin Fagan made it a home win at the inaugural Mullingar 10-Mile, winning in a fast time of 48 mins 43 secs. Fagan, who returned to racing earlier this year after a two-year doping ban, was out on his own for much of the race.

Rathfarnham's Sean Hehir was almost two minutes adrift in second place, while four minutes behind again was Peter Mooney.Pauline Curley was an equally convincing winner of the women's race, with Sonya McConnon second and Charlotte Kearney third.

Clubs' league showdown

Athletes heading for the European Championships in a fortnight's time will have a last run out in club colours at Sunday's GloHealth National League final in Tullamore. In the women's competition, Dundrum South Dublin are going for a third win, but face tough opposition from Leevale, who pushed them close last year. Key members of the DSD squad include 400m runner Sinead Denny and Anita Fitzgibbon in the throws. The Leevale men are strong contenders for the men's title, with Clonliffe their big rivals.

Sittuk sets up Raheny

Freddy Keron Sittuk, now with Raheny Shamrock, won the Balla 10km in Co Mayo for a second year. With clubmates Ian Conroy second and Bernard Roe fourth, Raheny took the team prize. Norah Newcombe  of Ballina was ninth overall and first woman in  37:24. Eoin Callaghan and Vanessa Sallier were the winners of the inaugural Dublin Fire Brigade 5km in Marino.

National titles on the line

On a busy weekend for club athletes the National Half Marathon takes place on Monday on a point-to-point course from Dublin's docklands to the Phoenix Park.

One woman who won't be running is defending champion Lizzie Lee of Leevale, who gave birth to daughter Lucy just a month ago. In the men's race, expect a team battle between Clonliffe and Rathfarnham.

The race is run in conjunction with the Rock 'n' Roll Half Marathon with late entries at €55 still on offer.

Bay run entry still open

Fancy a scenic run around Dun Laoghaire on Bank Holiday Monday? Online entry for The DLR Bay 10km (10.30am) is still open at €25. All who finish get a draw-strong goodie bag, t-shirt and refreshments. Last year's winners were Freddy Keron Sittuk in 32 mins 29 secs and Aoife Joyce of Crusaders in 41 mins 11 secs.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News