Wednesday 23 January 2019

Crokes dream of a Sevens double

Kilmacud gear up for All-Ireland football festival

YOU never know who you'd meet at the FBD All-Ireland Kilmacud Football Sevens.

One year strolling around Glenalbyn was the renowned Kerry author, Bryan MacMahon.

What stories there is to tell of this event which first sailed out in 1973.

"The Sevens is one of the highlights of the football year.

"Teams come from all over the country, and there is just a special atmosphere surrounding the whole event," says Crokes Football Chairman, Seán Fox.


The hosts have won the title four times. The last occasion was in 1997. They were the last Dublin club to taste success - after the great success of their hurlers they'd love to make it a double.

Na Fianna were the last Dublin representatives to reach the final in 2003.

Corofin of Galway are the champs. They overcame St Gall's of Antrim in last year's final.

The Northern clubs have a remarkable record in the competition. From 2005 to 2012, the winners have all been from the North.

"We are especially excited about the Donegal involvement this year," relates Seán.

"They'll certainly bring the crowds. And, as we all know, Donegal people love to party!"

In that case, they have come to the right place.


GROUP 1 (Glenalbyn): Dr Crokes (Kerry), Tuam Stars (Galway), Emo (Laois), Ballyholland Harps (Down).

GROUP 2 (Glenalbyn): Parnell's (London), Clonduff (Down), Blessington (Wicklow), Kilmacud Crokes 2 (Dublin).

GROUP 3 (St Olaf's): St Olaf's (Dublin), Ard an Ratha (Donegal), Castledown Liam Mellows (Wexford), Milltown (Galway).

GROUP 4 (St Olaf's): St Gall's (Antrim), Erin's Own Lavery (Derry), Arles Kilcrise (Laois), Kilkerrin Clonerne (Galway).

GROUP 5 (Silver Park): Corofin (Galway), Errigal Ciaran (Tyrone), St Laurence's (Kildare), Clashmore (Waterford).

GROUP 6 (Silver Park): Longford Slashers (Longford), Dromore St Dympna's (Tyrone), Caherlistrane (Galway), St Patrick's Donagh (Fermanagh).

GROUP 7 (Silver Park): Rathmore (Kerry), Carryduff (Down), Naas (Kildare), Bryansford (Down).

GROUP 8 (Silver Park): Kilmacud Crokes 1 (Dublin), Monaghan Harps (Monaghan), Pádraig Pearses (Roscommon), St Bronagh's Rostrevor (Down).

Promoted articles

Entertainment News