Saturday 22 September 2018

EU citizens can't vote in UK poll

Citizens from most EU countries living in the UK will be barred from voting in the referendum on whether to sever ties with Brussels promised by prime minister David Cameron.

The franchise for the referendum, promised by the end of 2017, will be based on that for a general election, meaning Irish, Maltese and Cypriots resident in the UK will get a vote but other EU citizens will not.

British, Irish and Commonwealth citizens over 18 who are resident in the UK will be eligible to vote, as well as UK nationals resident overseas for less than 15 years.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News