Dublin City Council is putting together a team to renovate the historic No 14 Henrietta Street and turn it into a museum.
The street has been described by the Heritage Council as "one of the first and finest planned Georgian streets in Dublin".
Now the council wants to turn the building into a cultural centre, complete with "light touch" digital installations created by interpretative specialists to present the social and architectural history of the house, the street and the city.
The address is being brought back to life - after being largely vacant for 30 years - as a publicly-accessible, adaptable and flexible museum.
A tender process has begun to find engineers, architects and surveyors to undertake the work, which has a strict March 2016 handover deadline.
The Heritage Council has already grant-aided a window and door conservation programme at the address as part of the 2004 conservation plan for the street.
When it is completed the facility will explore Georgian and tenement life in Dublin.
The development of Henrietta Street spans the years 1729 to 1758.
Number 14 was built around 1748 along with numbers 13 and 15 as a single-building construction by developer Luke Gardiner.
The first resident of number 14 was Richard Molesworth, the third Viscount of Molesworth and commander in chief of the military in Ireland.