Tuesday 12 December 2017

Two Irish authors make list for Booker Prize 2014

Two Irish authors have been shortlisted for this year's Man Booker Prize.

Niall Williams has been nominated for his first novel in five years, History of the Rain, which is about the bed-ridden daughter of a dead poet trying to find her father through stories.

Cork native Joseph O'Neill (below) has been nominated for his book The Dog, which recounts the tale of an unnamed hero who moves to Dubai from New York following the break-up of a long-term relationship. O'Neill has previously won the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction in 2009.

For the first time in its 
46-year history, the Man Booker Prize which is worth €63,265 in prize money, has been opened up to writers of any nationality writing originally in English and published in the UK.

Previously, the prize was only open to authors from the UK and Commonwealth, the Republic of Ireland and Zimbabwe.

Literary trail-blazers of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries - from Salman Rushdie to Hilary Mantel, Iris Murdoch to Peter Carey - have previously won the coveted prize.

The rules of the prize changed at the end of 2013 by opening up to writers beyond the UK and Commonwealth in order to embrace "the freedom of English in all its vigour, its vitality, its versatility and its glory wherever it may be".

The prize committee said that 154 books had been entered for this year's prize, which will be whittled down to a shortlist of six books to be announced on September 9.

The winner will be named on October 14.


Promoted articles

Entertainment News