Monday 24 June 2019

Newstalk rules the waves after winning Station of Year award

NEWSTALK was named Best Station of the Year last night.

Both Newstalk and RTE swept the boards last night at the annual PPI Radio Awards.

The winners of the PPI (Phonographic Performance Ireland) Radio Awards were announced at a glittering ceremony in the Lyrath Hotel in Kilkenny.

Newstalk's Breakfast Show anchor and Herald columnist Claire Byrne was on hand to collect the station's award along with fellow presenter Sean Moncrieff.

Other winners included Today FM's Ray Foley as Music Broadcaster of the Year, RTE Radio One's Ryan Tubridy picking up Speech Broadcaster of the Year and his colleague Sean O'Rourke named as News Broadcaster of the Year.

Newstalk's Eoin McDevitt scored Sports Broadcaster of the Year and Best Music Station was won by FM104.

RTE was the winner for the Best News Story for its coverage of the Ryan Report while the station's News At One was awarded Best News Programme.


RTE also scooped another prize for its coverage of last year's Olympic Games while Newstalk's Off The Ball won Best Sports Programme.

Today FM's Ray D'Arcy Show was awarded as Best Speech Driven Magazine Programme.

Aodan O Dubhghaill, Head of Lyric FM, collected Gay Byrne's Outstanding Achievement PPI Radio Award on Gay's behalf.

Guests included Claire Byrne, Mairead Farrell, Jenny Kelly, Ray D'Arcy, model Nadia Forde with boyfriend, FM104's Mark Noble.


Promoted articles

Entertainment News