herald

Saturday 21 October 2017

Robben won’t face any action from Fifa

World Cup organizers will take no action against Arjen Robben after he apparently acknowledged diving during the Netherlands' 2-1 victory over Mexico in Sunday's second-round match.

The Dutch forward is reported to have apologized for diving early in the game, but not when he won the decisive penalty in injury time. He said that was a "definite foul".

Robben made his comments about diving on Dutch television, but the Dutch football association issued a statement saying his comments were misunderstood.

FIFA spokeswoman Delia Fischer says the disciplinary committee only "will look into serious infringements".

She said a yellow card would not be issued retroactively against Robben.

SPIRIT

She says: "We ask the players to play in the spirit of fair play. It's up to the referees to manage a match."

"I don't change myself, that is my personality. I think it's good," Robben said yesterday.

"Sometimes you are punished for honesty," said Robben, acknowledging it had been "a stupid action" to fall without contact.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News