herald

Tuesday 6 December 2016

Murray not hit by penalties

tennis

ANDY MURRAY believes it can be difficult for players to avoid time violations after he was penalised twice during his second-round victory over Portugal's Joao Sousa.

Murray beat Sousa 6-2 4-6 6-4 6-1 to book a third-round match with Nick Kyrgios, but he was twice punished by umpire Pascal Maria for exceeding the 20-second limit between points.

The Scot seemed to be waiting for the wind to drop when he was warned in the eighth game of the second set, while after the second offence in the third, which cost him a fault, he explained to the umpire he had been delayed by highlights being played on the big screen.

"I wasn't annoyed with the time thing at all, I made no issue of it," Murray said. "I think it's there for a reason. Sometimes I play too slow and that's unintentional.

"But as a player you have no idea how long you're taking in between the points and people can say, 'Oh, they do, they play tennis', but the reality is things happen sometimes. You don't get the ball in time or the towel in time. Or the second one that I got, genuinely I was up at the line in good time, but they were showing the highlights from the point before, so I didn't serve.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News